LibGuides: Biology: Find Articles

Discovery Service - SABER

SABER allows users to search nearly all of the library's resources at once, but it does not contain everything! If you need help searching contact us here - Ask a Librarian. This search does not open in a new window, please be sure to open this page in a new tab before searching so you can get back to it!

Filtering Results in SABER
Filtering results allows you to find relevant resources for your assignment.

Searching for Peer Reviewed Articles
Step by Step instructions to search for peer reviewed articles in SABER and email results.

Search Databases

The databases below include articles on biology topics from newpapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. Full text of articles is often provided for no charge.

OPEN ACCESS - full text of articles in these journals should be available at no charge.

Biomed Central
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 266 peer-reviewed open access journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics.

more... less...

The research articles in all journals published by BioMed Central are "Open Access". They are immediately and permanently available online without charge. You have to register in order to use this database, but that's free, too.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. There are now 3000 journals in the directory. Currently 973 journals are searchable at article level. Over 1 million articles from almost 10,000 journals are included in the DOAJ service.

Biological Science Collection
This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
Gale in Context: Science
Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more.
Gale In Context: Science is an engaging resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. It showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. Integrating millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, Science offers topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.
Gale Interactive: Science
Manipulate 3D interactive models to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth, and space science.
Gale Interactive: Science is a virtual lab that gives students the power to see beyond static text and embrace learning outside of the classroom. It is a highly visual online learning tool that takes visual-spatial learning to the next level by bringing the lab to the classroom. High-value, rich-media digital content selected from authoritative classroom resources is paired with interactive 3D models to deliver a virtual laboratory simulation experience for students. Students can entertain their curiosity and inspire improvement through an experience that allows zooming in, rotating, or pulling models apart to explore and experiment with complex scientific topics.
Natural Science Collection
The Natural Science Collection includes the Agri & Env, Bio Science, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aqua Databases and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Science Magazine
Full version of Science Magazine including Science Advances, Science Translational Medicine, and Science Signaling
SciTech Collection Premium (including Science/Technology E-books)
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

Journals with Online Access

Search interfaces for individual journals are often confusing...

Use a database, such as CINAHL, to search for articles on a particular topic.

Use these links to specific journals to:

browse an issue of a journal
get the full text of an article NOT available in a database.

Biology

Tutorial

Discovery Service - SABER

Search Databases

Journals with Online Access

Journals in the Library