Skip to Main Content
 

Library Home | Student Info | Faculty & Staff | Research Tools | Distance Learning | Remote Access | Useful Resources | Contact Us | Library Events

Biology

How to find reliable information on biology topics in books, journals, magazines, and websites.

Finding Books in the Library

Search the Catalog

Search the Library Catalog to find books in the library's collection.

The catalog provides citations, location, and circulation information for all the print and audiovisual materials owned by the library. It also provides web links to our ebook collections.

1. To search for a term, Enter your search term(s) in the browse search window. 

 2. Click on Subject Headings that most closely tie in to your topic.

 3. Use the Call Number to locate books from your home campus library shelves.

 4. Click on the Request button to have books from another campus delivered to your campus.

5. Click on the Web Link to access full-text electronic books or do a search for just ebooks from the list on the right.

Browse the Shelves

 

Browse the library shelves in these call number areas:

    570-574 Biology
    575 Evolution & Genetics
    576 Microbiology
    577 General Nature of Life
    578 Microscopy in Biology
    579 Collection & Preservation
    580-589 Botanical Sciences
    590-599 Zoological Sciences
      
   

Book Delivery!

If you find a book, but it's located in one of the other campus libraries, just click on the REQUEST button to have it sent to your campus library, often in less than 24 hours!

eBook Databases

Even though our ebooks are in the library catalog, searching the ebook databases directly can help you find:

  • more ebooks
  • more specific information info within the ebooks.

Why?

The complete text in each book is searchable in the database's interface,  but the library catalog can only search info about the book, not inside the book itself.

Blinn Home | Blinn A to Z | myBLINN | eCampus | Blinn Directory | Academic Calendar | Writing Centers | Learning Centers | Computer Labs | Comments and Suggestions?