"Articles" come from newspapers, magazines, or journals (collectively called periodicals)
Unlike some web pages, an article is edited and checked for accuracy
Some periodicals are available in print, but they are often available electronically.
Articles are found by searching databases.
A database letsyousearchbykeyword for articles on your research topic
Online Databases
Articles from databases will be one of your primary research tools in finding information on your topics. Several databases will be helpful in locating articles for your general essays and your final research paper.
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
Gale Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. With extensive coverage in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology, researchers are able to find accurate information and articles in both PDF and HTML formats with ease.
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. It is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.
Completely full text, GIC offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. The database focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues.
SIRS Issues Researcher delivers the pros and cons on today’s complex social issues. Critical current issues and enduring social issues are covered through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference material from over 1,800 national and international sources.
