LibGuides: Nursing: Find Articles

Start Here for Articles!

CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.

Nursing/Medical Databases

The library subscribes to some journals directly, but you have access to full text journal articles from many more journals in subscription databases.

If the full text of an article is not available online but the article's database record indicates that "Blinn Library subscribes to this periodical" this means the article may be available in some other format (usually in paper or microfiche/microfilm). In most cases you can access a copy of this article by submitting an article request form.

CREDO Reference
With Credo Reference, you get content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject. There are over 3 million entries, 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos), and over 100,000 audio pronunciation files and sound clips.

The content is enriched by a network of cross-reference links that cut across topics and titles to give you accurate, contextual results
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in a variety of disciplines. Explore a wide range of scholarly content through this platform.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus contains pages of carefully selected links to Web resources with authoritative health information, including dictionaries, directories, organizations, news sources and 650 health topics. It also contains links to pre-formulated searches of the MEDLINE/PubMed database, allowing you to find references to latest health professional articles on your topic.
Gale Power Search (includes Opposing Viewpoints, Global Issues, and GVRL)
This site searches all Gale products at one time, helping you locate a variety of articles and eBooks.
Gale OneFile: Nursing & Allied Health
Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management.

Provide access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Scholarly journals in health, medicine, nursing and allied health - over 2500 topical overviews and videos and live surgeries from OR Live.

Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Gale OneFile: Psychology
Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.

Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Gale Health and Wellness
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.

Gale Health and Wellness offers access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Nursing Journals and eBooks (Ovid Database)
Access to 59 nursing journals and 51 nursing ebooks thru one search interface or search the individual journal or ebook by clicking on the appropriate tab. This database includes the American Journal of Nursing. The database offers the right mix of peer-reviewed, evidence-based electronic resources on the core nursing fundamentals for students - everything from procedures and skills to care plans and more.
PLOS ONE
PLOS ONE is an inclusive journal community working together to advance science for the benefit of society, now and in the future. PLOS ONE accepts research in over two hundred subject areas across science, engineering, medicine, and the related social sciences and humanities. We evaluate research on the basis of scientific validity, strong methodology, and high ethical standards—not perceived significance. Multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary research, replication studies, negative and null results are all in scope. We also publish Registered Reports and Protocols.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides LIMITED OPEN-ACCESS AND OPEN-ARCHIVE CONTENT to authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications.
Health Research Premium Collection
In the medical field, access to the latest health care information is always essential, whether it's for students, researchers, medical professionals, hospital administrators, or even for patients and their families. This database addresses these diverse needs by offering a central access point to a variety of essential content. Health Research Premium Collection serves a wide range of users with a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations, and includes the top ProQuest health and medical databases.
Behavioral and Mental Health Online
Alexander Street's Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works.
Gale Interactive: Science
Manipulate 3D interactive models to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth, and space science.

Gale Interactive: Science is a virtual lab that gives students the power to see beyond static text and embrace learning outside of the classroom. It is a highly visual online learning tool that takes visual-spatial learning to the next level by bringing the lab to the classroom. High-value, rich-media digital content selected from authoritative classroom resources is paired with interactive 3D models to deliver a virtual laboratory simulation experience for students. Students can entertain their curiosity and inspire improvement through an experience that allows zooming in, rotating, or pulling models apart to explore and experiment with complex scientific topics.
Visible Body
Visible Body is a highly-accurate, visual database that includes thousands of models you can rotate, zoom, and dissect, and physiology and pathology animations that quickly communicate complex biology. Users will have to create their own usernames and passwords to use this resource.
Made Incredibly Easy! Health Library
Made Incredibly Easy! provides a digital learning tool for nurses at the BSN/RN-level in academic and hospital settings that will aid in their learning experience by providing access to texts designed to enhance their understanding of essential topics as well as prepare them for clinical rotations.

Journals with Online Access

Search interfaces for individual journals are often confusing...

Use a database, such as CINAHL, to search for articles on a particular topic.

Use these links to specific journals to:

browse an issue of a journal
get the full text of an article NOT available in a database.

Advances in Neonatal Care
American Nurse Today
Journal of Community Health
Nursing Times
You can register for free and get lots of free content.
Texas Board of Nursing Bulletin

Nursing

Is it Scholarly?

Open Access Databases

The Budapest Open Access Initiative

Start Here for Articles!

Nursing/Medical Databases

Journals with Online Access