Find Your Sources - English - Literature (American, British, World)

Discovery Service - SABER

SABER allows users to search nearly all of the library's resources at once, but it does not contain everything! If you need help searching contact us here - Ask a Librarian. This search does not open in a new window, please be sure to open this page in a new tab before searching so you can get back to it!

Filtering Results in SABER
Filtering results allows you to find relevant resources for your assignment.

Searching for Peer Reviewed Articles
Step by Step instructions to search for peer reviewed articles in SABER and email results.

Resources

The library subscribes to Databases that provide citation information and many full-text articles from scholarly and academic journals, newspapers, magazines, images, videos, and more.

You have VIP access to these resources! You will be prompted for the single MyBLINN sign in information to access databases with a computer off-campus.

Below are some databases where you might find information about Literature and LIterary Criticism

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in a variety of disciplines. Explore a wide range of scholarly content through this platform.
Bloom's Literature
Hundreds of Harold Bloom’s essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world, and thousands of critical articles published by noted scholars under the Bloom’s Literary Criticism imprint.
This accessible database also contains an archive of more than 46,000 characters; extensive entries on literary topics, themes, movements, genres, and authors; almost 170 video segments; and more. Handy browse and search features include in-text links, record links, and numerous options for further research.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International is a bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. It is published by the Modern Language Association. It is a research tool for literature that contains over 1.8 million records. The file contains indexing back to 1926. Over 4,400 journals, including e-journals, are regularly reviewed for articles.

Literature and Literary Criticism Databases
Use this link to see a full list of databases on literature and literary criticism.

Search the Catalog to find literary criticism

Enter your author's last name (Shakespeare) or the title of your story (Hamlet)
Enter the word "Criticism" and choose "Subject" from the drop down menu
Click on the Search button
Use the call number included in the catalog description to find a book that is located in your home campus library
eBooks have a link instead of a call number - click on the link to access the book

Look through your results to find books with criticism of your author's writing (in general); and specific books of criticism of thier stories.

Search Blinn Library Catalog
Use this link to search the Blinn Library Catalog
Library Catalog Tutorial
eBook databases
Databases filled with eBooks.

Because information on the web changes rapidly and can often be edited by anyone, the library recommends closely evaluating the information found on websites. If you have questions please reach out to the library.

Evaluating Resources
Ask questions to be sure the resource you are using is the best for your research!

Looking for a Performance?

Although Digital Theatre Plus does not include literary criticism, it can be helpful in understanding what is happening in the play or novel you are reading.

Digital Theatre Plus
**You need to download the latest version of Chrome in order to watch content on this platform.**
This collection brings together some of the finest Broadway plays and great works of literature produced for television over the past five decades, from an archive described by The New York Times as "the crown jewels" of public and network television.

English - Literature (American, British, World)

Authors

Langston Hughes

Flannery O'Connor

Toni Morrison

Charlotte Bronte

Louisa May Alcott

Nathaniel Hawthorne

Ernest Hemingway

Jane Austen

William Shakespeare

Arthur Miller

Edgar Allan Poe

Discovery Service - SABER

Resources

Looking for a Performance?