LibGuides: Paralegal and Legal Studies: Texas Information and Associations

Legal Assistant Organizations

Paralegal Division of the State Bar of Texas
Produced by the State Bar of Texas, this member resource can be used to learn about CLE classes for Paralegals, Texas Paralegal Standards, and access to the Texas Paralegal Journal.

Texas Legal Resources - State and Local

Brazos County - Courthouse, Courts, and Docket Information
Created by the county government of Brazos County includes information on the courthouse itself; links to District Courts, County Courts, Magistrate Courts and Justice of the Peace Courts for Brazos County as well as their docket information. The site also includes access to relevant documents and forms for each court.
Texas Administrative Code [TAC]
Created by Office of the Secretary of State [Texas], this is an online version of the Administrative Code. The TAC is a compilation of all state agency rules in Texas.
Texas Attorney General Website
This site contains information on child support, consumer protection, criminal justice, Attorney General Opinions, news releases from the Office of the Attorney General, and many other resources.
Texas Courts Online
The Texas Judicial Branch web site is maintained by the Office of Court Administration (OCA).

As a state agency, OCA provides technical support and administrative assistance to Texas courts and judges. It has no authority over any other agency, no investigative powers, and cannot compel action on the part of any entity, except to pursue a writ of mandamus to compel reporting of court statistics. It is prohibited from giving legal advice or assistance in cases to individuals.
Texas.gov - File Court Documents
This resource on the texas.gov website under "File Court Documents" explains eFiling for Courts 'the official electronic filing solution for the State of Texas.' It includes information about the resource, benefits of filing electronically, a list of participating counties, frequently asked questions, getting started, and a contact link for more information.
TexasLawHelp
A project of the Texas Access to Justice Commission and the Texas Access to Justice Foundation, TexasLawHelp is a free and low-cost civil legal assistance web resource. It is sponsored by Texas Access to Justice Foundation, the Texas Access to Justice Commission, Legal Services Corporation, Texas Legal Services Center, the Travis County Law Library, and Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas.

The current Rule of Civil Procedure.

Texas Statutes

Developed as part of the Texas Legislature Online, statute parts are available as zipped HTML, PDF, and Word files or use the search feature to search any or all codes.

Texas Secretary of State

Created by the Office of the Secretary of State, this information and resources about Elections & Voter Information; State Rules & Open Meetings; Corporations; Uniform Commercial Code; Statutory Documents; Texas Border & Mexican Affairs; and International Protocol.

Texas State Law Library

This digital collection provides remote access to legal databases that offer a variety of resources including scholarly journal articles, case law, historical statutes, and e-books. These resources are available for free to anyone in Texas who registers for a library account.

This collection offers remote access to databases such as HeinOnline, Fastcase, AILAlink, Wolters Kluwer’s Tax and Labor Law Library, as well as an Overdrive platform, which provides access to e-books on a variety of legal topics. It also includes the digitized Texas historical statutes from 1879-1960 .

Link to Sign Up for Texas State Law Library
Please note- you may only apply online if you currently reside in Texas.

SUNDAY	5:45 pm - 9:00 pm
MONDAY	8:00 am - 9:00 pm
TUESDAY	8:00 am - 9:00 pm
WEDNESDAY	8:00 am - 9:00 pm
THURSDAY	8:00 am - 9:00 pm
FRIDAY	8:00 am - 3:00 pm
SATURDAY	12:15 pm - 3:30 pm