LibGuides: Government and Politics: Find Your Sources

Discovery Service - SABER

SABER allows users to search nearly all of the library's resources at once, but it does not contain everything! If you need help searching contact us here - Ask a Librarian. This search does not open in a new window, please be sure to open this page in a new tab before searching so you can get back to it!

Filtering Results in SABER
Filtering results allows you to find relevant resources for your assignment.

Searching for Peer Reviewed Articles
Step by Step instructions to search for peer reviewed articles in SABER and email results.

Resources

The library subscribes to Databases that provide citation information and many full-text articles from scholarly and academic journals, newspapers, magazines, images, videos, and more.

You have VIP access to these resources! You will be prompted for the single MyBLINN sign in information to access databases with a computer off-campus.

Below are some databases where you might find information about Government.

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in a variety of disciplines. Explore a wide range of scholarly content through this platform.
Gale Virtual Reference - History, Government, Law
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a large collection of reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, almanacs, etc.). Included is the Dictionary of American History and the Encyclopedia of American Law.
Gale Academic OneFile
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
Gale Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. With extensive coverage in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology, researchers are able to find accurate information and articles in both PDF and HTML formats with ease.

All Government Databases
See a list of databases you can search to find information on government and politics. If you need help, please contact the library!

Search the Catalog

The catalog provides citation information, locations, and circulation information for all materials owned by the library, as well as other libraries worldwide.

1. Use a keyword or subject search. Use the catalog tutorial if you need help searching the catalog.

2. Use the Call Number to retrieve books from your home campus library shelves.

3. Click on the Request button to have books from another campus delivered to your campus.

4. Click on the "View eBook" to access full-text eBooks.

Search Blinn Library Catalog
Use this link to search the Blinn Library Catalog
Library Catalog Tutorial
eBook databases
Databases filled with eBooks.

Because information on the web changes rapidly and can often be edited by anyone, the library recommends closely evaluating the information found on websites. Below find some general websites that cover this topic as well as several resources to help evaluate information. If you have questions please reach out to the library.

Evaluating Resources
Ask questions to be sure the resource you are using is the best for your research!

Federal

USA.gov
As the official U.S. gateway to all government information, searching USA.gov provides access to millions of federal and state government web pages that are not generally available on commercial websites. You can also do business with the government online: you can apply for student financial assistance, buy government publications, apply for social security and other benefits, get a passport application, and more. USA.gov also has a Spanish-language web portal, Gobierno USA.gov.
Congress.gov
Tracks legislation through both houses of Congress, provides access to the Congressional Record and committee information.
United States Constitution
An electronic copy of the constitution from the U.S. Senate

State (Texas)

Texas.gov
This is the official compilation of Texas government electronic resources, both at the state and local levels, as well as an index of Texas governmental or taxing authority web sites and services. The site is organized by subject to provide a collection of links and portals designed to allow citizens, visitors, businesses, state government, and others to quickly and efficiently locate appropriate resources.
Texas Constitution and Statutes
are provided in HTML, PDF, or MS Word format for each code, or use the search feature to search any or all codes.

Local (Blinn College Service Area)

City of Brenham
City of Bryan
City of College Station
Government Websites
Provides links to many federal, texas, and local government resources.