LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Find Your Sources

Discovery Service - SABER

SABER allows users to search nearly all of the library's resources at once, but it does not contain everything! If you need help searching contact us here - Ask a Librarian. This search does not open in a new window, please be sure to open this page in a new tab before searching so you can get back to it!

Filtering Results in SABER
Filtering results allows you to find relevant resources for your assignment.

Searching for Peer Reviewed Articles
Step by Step instructions to search for peer reviewed articles in SABER and email results.

Resources

The library subscribes to Databases that provide citations and many full-text articles from scholarly and academic journals, newspaper articles, magazine articles, images, videos, and more.

You have VIP access to these resources! You will be prompted for the single MyBLINN sign in information to access databases with a computer off-campus.

Below are some recommended databases where you might find information about Criminal Justice

Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online delivers almost 70,000 videos spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons.
Gale Academic OneFile
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
Gale Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. With extensive coverage in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology, researchers are able to find accurate information and articles in both PDF and HTML formats with ease.

All Criminal Justice Databases
Search some of these databases to find articles related to criminal justice topics. If you need help finding resources, contact a librarian!

Search the Catalog

The catalog provides citation information, locations, and circulation information for all materials owned by the library, as well as other libraries worldwide.

1. Use a keyword or subject search. Use the catalog tutorial if you need help searching the catalog.

2. Use the Call Number to retrieve books from your home campus library shelves.

3. Click on the Request button to have books from another campus delivered to your campus.

4. Click on the "View eBook" to access full-text eBooks.

Search Blinn Library Catalog
Use this link to search the Blinn Library Catalog
eBook databases
Databases filled with eBooks.
Library Catalog Tutorial
This tutorial will help you learn how to search for information using the library catalog.

Because information on the web changes rapidly and can be edited by anyone, the library recommends evaluating closely the information found on the web. Below find some general websites that cover Criminal Justice as well as resources to help evaluate information. If you have questions please reach out to the library.

Evaluating Resources
Ask questions to be sure the resources you are using is the best for your research!

Police Departments
Some local police departments provide extensive statistical information for their jurisdiction (see below). Other departments have websites but do not have much on them other than contact information. Some departments don’t have websites.

Texas Department of Public Safety
City of Brenham Police Department
City of Bryan Police Department
City of College Station Police Department
Brazos County Department of Emergency Management
In an effort to better protect our community's residents and visitors, the Brazos County Department of Emergency Management has developed this website to provide up-to-date emergency information (i.e., road closures, evacuations, terrorist threat levels, etc.) and what steps you should take during an emergency.

Criminal Justice Specialist Websites

These are links to courts, statistical data, and other websites related to criminal justice

The OYEZ Project
A multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.
Crime in the United States (1995 to present)
FBI reports of crimes. National data presented as well as regional, state, county agency, city agency, university or college, city and county, and Metropolitan Statistical Areas.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Contains documents and web links from U.S. government agencies.
Texas Department of Criminal Justice - Public Resources
Provides links to statistical and informational resources compiled by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice.
U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics
A collection of criminal justice statistics from U.S. government agencies.