Copyright & Plagiarism

The following FAQs can help you determine whether or not you should place a copyrighted item on reserve in the library.

Disclaimer:  The information presented here is only general information, and does not constitute legal advice. Note that fair use is assessed on a case by case basis; and guidelines are ambiguous in many cases. The safest course to follow when unclear about whether it's permissible to place a copyrighted work on library reserves is to obtain permission from the copyright owner.

---

 1. Can I photocopy an article from a journal and place the copy on reserve? 

A photocopied journal article can be placed on reserve for (1) semester.  After that semester, permission must be sought from the publisher unless all rights concerning that article are held by the person requesting the item be placed on reserve.   

2.  Are there documents I can copy and put on reserve without obtaining copyright clearance?

Unless signified by a reproduction permission notice, all portions of a federal government document may be freely placed on reserve.  It is possible for a government document to have copyrighted material within it.  Copyright permission is not ordinarily required for exams, lecture notes, student papers, or works in the public domain. 

3.  Can I put photocopies of out of print items on reserve without copyright clearance?

"Out of Print" materials might still be protected by copyright. Photocopies of works that are in the public domain can be placed on reserve without copyright clearance. Works that are considered to be in the public domain are no longer protected by copyright. 

4.  Can students be given an Internet link so they can print the article themselves?

Students should be encouraged [when possible] to view and print an article from one of the library full text article databases. Links to most articles can be placed in eCampus so students can access them easily. Contact the library if you need help with links to full text articles in library databases.

5. Can I put a photocopied chapter from a book on reserve?

A photocopied chapter can be placed on reserve for one semester.  After that, permission must be sought from the publisher unless all rights concerning that chapter are held by the person making the request. 

6. Can I place a video I made of a PBS program on reserve? What audio and/or video recordings are considered "authorized" ?            

Permission must be sought for any off-air videos that instructors wish to place on reserve.  PBS and other networks have permission clearing houses for this kind of request.

The Library will not place on reserve unauthorized copies (i.e., instructor-produced) of audio or video recordings, including instructor created compilations unless the instructor has written permission from the copyright holder for each selection.

However, authorized (i.e., legally purchased) copies of video or audio, such as DVDs & CDs can be placed on reserve.  Contact the library to see if we can purchase a copy.

7. Can I place portions of a book that I wrote on reserve?

Portions of book can be placed on reserve for (1) semester. Unless all reproduction and distribution rights are held by the author, permission will need to be sought from the publisher if the material is on reserve for more than one semester.

8.  Why do I need permission to place some materials on reserve?

Copyright laws and regulations regarding the use of copied materials indicate that the permission of copyright holders should be obtained unless a work is in the public domain, a federal government document, or all reproduction and distribution rights are held by the person making the request.

9.  I’ve put this on reserve before – why do I need obtain permission this time?

If we discover an item that was accidentally placed on reserve without obtaining the necessary clearance, we need to rectify the oversight.

10.  What other options do I have if I cannot get permission?

If the work cannot be purchased legally, alternative materials may be sought to replace those for which permission has been denied.  Full text electronic articles from subscription databases and eBooks might be available for instructors & students to use.

11. Who is responsible for making sure my materials comply with copyright law?

It is the responsibility of the instructor to obtain the necessary copyright permissions. 

12. How can I get copyright permission?

Permission can either be obtained by contacting the publisher of the work, or contacting Copyright Clearance Center [CCC]. The CCC offers online permission capability for both photocopy and digital duplicates.

13. What is the TEACH Act and how does it affect course reserves?

The TEACH Act - Technology, Education, and Copyright Harmonization Act (TEACH), was signed into the law on November 2, 2002. TEACH updates the distance education provisions of the Copyright Act to meet the challenges of the networked environment. See the TEACH Act tab in this guide for more information.

14.  I’m teaching this course again – can I just leave my items on reserve indefinitely?

Yes, in most cases. The Reserves LTA will email you at the end of each semester, and your response will help us keep our Reserves collection current.         

15. I already use eCampus, do I still need reserves?

If you are using eCampus you may find that you don’t have a need to place materials on reserve.  However, the service is available if you find there is a resource that is not available through eCampus or our full text electronic resources.