LibGuides: Center for Teaching and Learning: Concurrent Remote Teaching Resources

Library Assistance and Activities

Blinn College Library provides a large variety of resources for faculty and students. Below are some of the features and programs offered that can be embedded and/or utilized in online, hybrid, and traditional courses.

About the Library
This Blinn Library guide provides facts about the library, including contact information, operating hours and calendar, mission statement, course reserves, and distance learning.
Fun Digital Games and Activities
A Blinn Library guide featuring games, escape rooms, and other fun content. These are great for morale and extra credit.
Library Instruction
Blinn Librarians can provide classes with structured, online Zoom sessions that detail effective journal searching, career resources, navigating the library system, and more.
Library Liaisons
The Library Liaison Program exists to improve communication and encourage collaboration between the library and the college community, including onsite and distance learners. Librarians are appointed to work with faculty in specific departments and serve as the primary contact between the department and the library.
Student Information
A Blinn Library guide providing students with library facts, helpful services, log-in information, and activities.
Research Help
This Blinn Library guide details research and citation help, as well as effective brainstorming, study skills, academic integrity, and more.

Education-Related Databases

The following Blinn College Library databases allow faculty to search thousands of full-text journals for topics of interest within the field of education.

Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. There are now 3000 journals in the directory. Currently 973 journals are searchable at article level. Over 1 million articles from almost 10,000 journals are included in the DOAJ service.

Association of College and University Educators (ACUE)

Welcome to ACEU's online teaching toolkit. To support instructors needing to make a quick transition to utilizing an online environment, we’re offering resources and recommendations that can be immediately put to use by instructors, to benefit both faculty and their students.

These resources are divided into six key topic areas for teaching remotely:

Welcoming students to the online environment
Managing your online presence
Organizing your online course
Planning and facilitating quality discussions
Recording effective microlectures
Engaging students in readings and microlectures

Resource Guide for Moving Your Class Online

A Special Report from Magna Publications
Featured articles include:
- Eight Steps for a Smoother Transition to Online Teaching
- A Checklist for Moving Your Course Online
- Seven Ways to Facilitate Effective Online Discussions

Zoom Etiquette and Practices

Zoom Help Center
Zoom provides quick start guides, video tutorials, and support topics to choose from.
Zoom: Best Practices in a Meeting (One-Page Guide)
Developed by the University of Pittsburgh, this guide will help your guests and you get the most out of your Zoom meeting experience.
Zoom Meetings: Etiquette and Best Practices
With the sudden shift to online classes and working remotely, many in the University community are learning to host Zoom video conferences on the fly. Here are some tips from the University of Pittsburgh to ensure a positive experience for all your participants.
Suggested Zoom Etiquette
Zoom etiquette tips as suggested by the University of Rochester.
Top 10 Tips for Good Zoom Hygiene and Etiquette in Education
Psychology Today provides educators with some much needed tips for good online classes.
Zoom @ Blinn
Blinn's Sharepoint site to help faculty and staff use Zoom.

Student Motivation and Engagement in Online Courses

College Student Engagement in Online Learning
An open access dissertation detailing student-student, student-content, and student-instructor engagement in undergraduate and graduate online courses.
Five Tips to Keep Learners Motivated and Engaged when Teaching Online
Learning online is different from the classroom. It’s a bit more challenging for students to engage with you, the content, and each other. Plus they have something new to engage with – the technology. These 5 strategies can help keep them motivated and on track for success.
Inclusive Online Teaching Teach-Out
In this free course, higher education faculty will examine students’ barriers to learning, including unconscious bias, physical impairments, and lack of motivation. Participants will explore and discuss how inclusive pedagogy and Universal Design for Learning (UDL) can help to address those barriers and improve student learning outcomes.
Moving Classes Online Is Hard. Online Discussion Can Help.
To achieve better success rates in online learning, we need to cultivate the sort of student engagement that's often the hallmark of great teaching and learning environments.
Student Motivation and Engagement in Online Courses
Create an engaging online course through pedagogic design and instructor behavior tips.
Teaching Strategies to Motivate Online Students
How do you engage students in an online environment? Consider these teaching strategies as you reach out to your online students.

Center for Teaching and Learning: Concurrent Remote Teaching Resources

COVID-19: Teaching Support