Skip to main content
  Blinn College Clock Tower Logo

Library Home | Search the Catalog | Distance Learning/Remote Access | Library Services | Research Help | Useful Links | Contact Us

Live Chat

English - Literature (American, British, World): Home

Authors

Resources to Use in Your Research

Reference books -- mainly scholarly encyclopedias and subject-specific dictionaries. It helps to start with a good general background knowledge of your topic.  Literature subject encyclopedias are a good place to start to narrow down your topic.

Books -- for broad coverage of a subject at a moderate to deep level. You will use a chapter or just pages, not the whole book.

Articles from periodicals (scholarly journals) or click on the Articles tab in this guide -- to hone in on the specifics, or bring knowledge from books up-to-date.

Literary Criticism

What is Literary Criticism?
Literary criticism is an analysis of a literary work. This is different from an overview, which describes aspects of a work (such as plot, characters, and theme) instead of analyzing the item. Literary criticism might include the following:

  • A defense of the work

  • An analysis of its structure or style

  • An interpretation of its meaning

  • A prediction of its effects on readers

  • And more

Where Can You Find Literary Criticism?

  • Books: Including reference books
  • Periodicals: Especially literary journals (a type of scholarly journal containing more critical essays on literary works than other periodicals)

eBooks

  Ebsco eBooks *
Nearly 28,000 online electronic books available through the Ebsco web site, as well as the Blinn College Library Catalog. How to Download Ebsco eBooks

  Ebrary *
A searchable database of ebooks (nonfiction). How to Download eBrary eBooks

 AXIS 360 eBooks *

A small collection of ebooks intended for leisure reading, including a variety of current fiction and nonfiction books.

  Internet Archive: Texts
This collection is free and open for everyone to use.

  Project Gutenberg
Access more than 13,000 electronic books from the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet.

  Google Books
View the entirety of public domain books or, for books under copyright, just a few pages or in some cases, only the title’s bibliographic data and brief snippets.

  Gale Virtual Reference Library*
Online access to many full text Gale reference books as well as works from other publishers.

* These are Blinn College Library subscription databases. You will need your Blinn College ID and password to access these databases from  off-campus. Links to these books are also found in the online catalog.

Library Instruction Video

Ask Us!

Librarian

Janice LaPaglia
Contact:
Blinn College Library
Office L120 Bryan Campus
979-209-7277

Liaison for Humanities, Parallel Studies, Mathematics, and Distance Education

Chat

Blinn Home | Blinn A to Z | myBlinn | eCampus | Blinn Directory | Blinn Calendars | Writing Center | Learning Center | Computer Labs