| |
|
Library Home | Student Info | Faculty & Staff | Research Tools | Distance Learning | Remote Access | Useful Resources | Contact Us | Library Events |
This link provides assessor and property tax records resources by state. Each state has an office that handles property assessment. The name of the office will vary by state.
Information on how to report foreign direct investment in real estate in the United States is available at this site. The Bureau has published estimates of land value in the United States. In April 2015, the BEA published a paper that values a mosaic of parcels, census tracts, and counties of various sizes in the contiguous (lower 48) United States plus the District of Columbia. Estimates suggest that this 1.89 billion acres of land are collectively worth approximately $23 trillion in 2009 (current prices), with 24% of the land area and $1.8 trillion of the value held by the federal government. The Bureau publishes the Survey of Current Business since 1921, which is available online or on site at the Library of Congress under HC101 K23.
The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau is a U.S. government agency that makes sure banks, lenders, and other financial companies treat the customer fairly. Provides information about the Home Mortgage Disclosure Act, data on mortgage performance trends, and maintains a consumer complaint database.
This link provides information on Consumer Protection Offices by state.
This site includes information on home design, weatherization, landscaping, buying electricity, and selecting energy efficient appliances. Energy, Efficiency, and Renewable Energy (EERE) provides information on alternative energy and conservation methods.
The site provides information on energy efficient products and construction.
The Federal National Mortgage Association (FNMA), known as Fannie Mae, is a U.S. government-sponsored enterprise and a publicly traded company. This site offers industry news, pricing on mortgage backed securities and debt instruments as well as market for Fannie Mae owned homes.
The Council is a formal interagency body empowered to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms for the federal examination of financial institutions by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System (FRB), the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA), the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC), and the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), and to make recommendations to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. Includes data and reports on Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act, Community Reinvestment Act, Private Mortgage Insurance Companies disclosure, and the Home Mortgage Disclosure Act.
The Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (FHLMC) - Freddie Mac, is a public government-sponsored enterprise, that is Congressionally chartered and charged with increasing the availability of funds to mortgage lenders through mortgage purchases, guarantees and securitization. FHLMC offers consumer guidance on home investment and facilitates loan originations. The Freddie Mac Primary Mortgage Market Survey® (PMMS®) has evolved since its inception in April 1971 into a respected source of regional and national mortgage rate trends and is relied upon by the mortgage industry and the public to gauge market conditions and evaluate mortgage loan options. Freddie Mac surveys lenders each week on the rates, fees and points for the most popular mortgage products.
Created by the National Housing Act of 1934, the FHA sets standards for construction and underwriting, and is the largest insurer in the world. In the 1930s, the established underwriting standards discriminated against minority neighborhoods and resulted in the practice of redlining, which was made illegal by the Fair Housing Act of 1968.
The Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA) was established by the Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008 (HERA) and is responsible for the effective supervision, regulation, and housing mission oversight of Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, and the Federal Home Loan Bank System, which includes the 11 Federal Home Loan Banks (FHLBanks) and the Office of Finance. Since 2008, FHFA has also served as conservator of Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. Regulates Federal Home Loan Banks. Provides research and analysis on the house price index, market data, and housing market indicators. Provides data sets on Home Loan Bank Member data, House Price Index, Market Data, Monthly Interest Rate Surveys, National Mortgage Database Data, National Survey of Mortgage originations, Federal Home Loan Data, and Underserved Areas Data.
The Federal Reserve Board conducts research and produces working papers, statistics, and reports, on economic and financial data, including research on residential and commercial real estate finance, mortgages, mortgage-backed securities (MBS) and commercial mortgage-backed securities (CMBS). It publishes information on mortgage debt outstanding and household debt service and financial obligations. The Fed reports on housing wealth. The FRASER web site has Federal Home Loan Bank Board or Federal Home Loan Bank Administration annual reports digitized. The Housing Renovation and Modernization Act of 1934, which developed mortgages and established the Federal Housing Administration is available at this site.
Enforces laws as they relate to mortgage and real estate fraud, including money laundering in the real estate industry.
This site includes research, publications, speeches and select data related to foreclosure and stability, with a focus on the Sixth District of the Federal Reserve. Includes a Foreclosure Response podcast, and links to national foreclosure related data at the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, the Urban Institute, The Reinvestment Fund, and HUD. Contains full text links to publications on the effect of foreclosure in the Atlanta Fed District.
The Government National Mortgage Association (GNMA), or Ginnie Mae, was founded in 1968 to promote home ownership. As a wholly owned government corporation within the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), Ginnie Mae’s mission is to expand affordable housing finance in the U.S. Ginnie Mae guarantees mortgages in secondary markets. It provides resources for prospective homeowners and issues securities.
The Internal Revenue Service site provides forms and instructions, resources for small businesses,. The web site has a special Real Estate Tax Center to provide guidance on income, deductions, and record keeping as it relates to rental income.
The U.S. Census Bureau provides a wealth of housing information, including that found in the Decennial Census of Population and Housing, The American Community Survey, The American Housing Survey, and a series of home price indexes.
Contains information on housing, fair housing, rental assistance, sustainability, as well as research - including data sets. The HUD publication, Housing Market Conditions, is now part of HUDUser. This quarterly publication includes housing and real estate statistics, provided nationally, regionally, and by state. Includes information on building permit starts, under construction, completion charts, as well as information on mobile and manufactured housing, home sales and prices, affordability, and apartment absorptions. Maintains data on Fair Market Rents, income limits, low-income housing credits, and subsidized housing. Provides mortgage information such as interest rate statistics and information on mortgage insurance, delinquency rates, foreclosure, housing stock, vacancy rates, and home ownership rates. The HUD State of the Cities Data Systems (SOCDS) page includes data sets for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities and Suburbs in terms of crime, building permits, employment, and urban public finance.
The U.S. EIA conducts the Commercial Buildings Energy Consumption Survey, which provides data on commercial building characteristics to better understand energy consumption. The survey breaks down into Census Districts.
Real estate investment trusts (“REITS”) allow individuals to invest in large-scale, income-producing real estate, and these trusts are regulated by the SEC. A REIT is a company that owns and typically operates income-producing real estate or related assets. The SEC site provides quick facts on REITS, as well as investor alerts and bulletins.
The Treasury Department site provides information on interest rates, treasury coupons, bonds, federal spending, and the national debt. This site has extensive information on the Troubled Asset Relief Program (TARP). It provides performance reports on the Making Home Affordable Program, which was launched in 2009 as part of TARP and was designed to assist homeowners avoid foreclosure. Includes the Office of Thrift Supervision, the successor to the Federal Home Loan Bank Board, the primary federal regulator of all federal and state-chartered savings institutions that belong to the Savings Association Insurance Fund (SAIF).
Library of Congress Real Estate Industry: A Resource Guide
This guide provides a starting point for researching both the residential and commercial real estate industries in the United States. Selected by business specialists at the Library of Congress, resources include both print and online materials.
| Blinn Home | Blinn A to Z | myBLINN | eCampus | Blinn Directory | Academic Calendar | Writing Centers | Learning Centers | Computer Labs | Comments and Suggestions? |