Geology

These links go to specific pages within the USGS website.

• Minerals
• Igneous Rocks
• Sedimentary Rocks
• Metamorphic Rocks

• Geology.com 

  Published by Hobart King, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Geology at Mansfield University of Pennsylvania.
• U.S. Geological Survey 

  Federal source for science about the Earth, its natural and living resources, natural hazards, and the environment.
• Texas Water Science Center -- U.S. Geological Survey 

  Information about the geology and water resources of Texas.
• National Geophysical Data Center 

  From geological disciplines such as marine geology, geophysics, paleoclimatology, solarterrestrial physics, solid earth geophysics, and glaciology.
• Digital Library for Earth System Education 

  Offers electronic materials for both educators and learners, such as lesson plans, maps, images, data sets, visualizations, assessment activities, curriculum, online courses, and much more.

• American Geological Institute 
• American Geophysical Union 
• American Association of Petroleum Geologists 
• Bureau of Economic Geology 
• Houston Geological Society 
• Mineralogical Society of America 
• Society for Sedimentary Geology 
• Texas Water Resources Institute 

• American Geological Institute: Curriculum Materials and Activities 
• Bureau of Land Management 
• Bureau of Economic Geology Resources for Teachers and Students of Geoscience in Texas 
• Digital Library for Earth System Education 
• Geology.com 
• Geological Society of America 
• Interactives: Dynamic Earth 
• U.S. Geological Survey 

• National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration 

  "As leaders in the field of climate research, NOAA's research laboratories, joint institutes and programs are working to meet local and regional needs for climate information" (NOAA website).
• National Snow and Ice Data Center 

  A branch of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) which studies glaciers, icebergs, blizzards, and other cold weather phenomena. Includes many facts, photos and educational resources.
• National Weather Service 

  Live weather information
• Weather Underground 

  Live weather information
• The Weather Channel 

  Live weather information

• Earthquakes Hazards Program 

  One of the best sources for information about earthquakes and tsunamis.
• Latest Earthquakes (USGS Earthquakes Hazards Program) 

  The most recent earthquakes in the United States collected from the Advanced National Seismic System, includes interactive maps and links with information on earthquakes occurring within the last hour, day and week.
• Earthquake Hazards Program: About Earthquakes 

  Contains a wealth of resources for students and teachers including animations, photo collections, facts, and more.
• Earthquake Hazards Program: Visual Glossary 

  Provided by the U.S. Geological Survey.

• PBS Nova program: Volcano's Deadly Warming 

  About Galeras and Long period seismic warnings. Includes a teacher's guide.
• Global Volcanism Program 

  This comprehensive site from the Smithsonian Institution includes listings of current eruptions worldwide, profiles of active volcanoes, and information on volcanic regions around the world.
• Michigan Technical University Volcanoes Page 

  This educational resource page "aims to provide information about volcanoes to the public and to complement other informational sites on the web."

• National Park Service 

  Summary geology provided for every National Park (including Hawaii, Alaska, and Puerto Rico). Access to tours, images, maps, and geologic resource summaries in Adobe PDF format.
• USGS Geologic Resources Inventory 

  Maps, photos, and other resources relating to the geology of the National Parks.
• Mapping the National Parks 

  This online collection of roughly 200 historic maps from the Library of Congress documents the history of Acadia, Yellowstone, the Grand Canyon, and the Great Smoky Mountains before they were national parks.

• A Tapestry of Time and Terrain 

  View an interactive, color-coded map of the continental United States that displays the geologic age of different regions. Includes a map key with detail on each geologic time period.
• This Dynamic Planet: World Map of Volcanoes, Earthquakes, Impact Craters, and Plate Tectonics 

  A joint project between the Smithsonian Institution, the U.S. Geological Survey, and the Naval Research Laboratory.
• Geology.com 

  Offers links to a variety of state, United States, and world maps.

• The Mineral and Gemstone Kingdom 

  An interactive guide to minerals and gemstones, including scientific information and photographs.

• Coastal and Marine Geology Program 

  "Investigating geologic issues of coastal and marine areas" is the purpose of this web page from the U.S. Geological Survey. The Coastal and Marine Geology program has begun to make some of its published circulars available online. Coasts in Crisis is an example, highlighting coastal development issues in the U.S.
• National Oceanographic Data Center 

  This branch of NOAA houses "the world's largest collection of publicly available oceanographic data."
• Marine Geology: Research Beneath the Sea 

  This page from a western regional office of the USGS has good overview of marine geology basics.

• Dinobase 

  Provided by the University of Bristol.
• University of California Museum of Paleontology 

  Thorough site that presents web-based paleontology info within three main areas of interest: phylogeny, geology and evolution.
• Paleomap Project 

  Created by Christopher R. Scotese