LibGuides: Music : Find Your Sources

Discovery Service - SABER

SABER allows users to search nearly all of the library's resources at once, but it does not contain everything! If you need help searching contact us here - Ask a Librarian. This search does not open in a new window, please be sure to open this page in a new tab before searching so you can get back to it!

Filtering Results in SABER
Filtering results allows you to find relevant resources for your assignment.

Searching for Peer Reviewed Articles
Step by Step instructions to search for peer reviewed articles in SABER and email results.

Resources

The library subscribes to Databases that provide citation information and many full-text articles from scholarly and academic journals, newspapers, magazines, images, videos, and more.

You have VIP access to these resources! You will be prompted for the single MyBLINN sign in information to access databases with a computer off-campus.

Below are some databases where you might find information about music.

Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online (part of Oxford Online) has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a comprehensive compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Grove Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music.

...and so much more!

We have many databases of recordings and other resources in the "Music Online" series from Alexander Press.

Click on the titles for access to:

American Music
Classical Music Library
Classical Scores Library (scores only)
Contemporary World Music
Jazz Music Library
Music and Performing Arts (scores, videos, reference sources)
Popular Music
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Search the Catalog

The catalog provides citation information, locations, and circulation information for all materials owned by the library, as well as other libraries worldwide.

1. Use a keyword or subject search. Use the catalog tutorial if you need help searching the catalog.

2. Use the Call Number to retrieve books from your home campus library shelves.

3. Click on the Request button to have books from another campus delivered to your campus.

4. Click on the "View eBook" to access full-text eBooks.

Search Blinn Library Catalog
Use this link to search the Blinn Library Catalog
Library Catalog Tutorial
eBook databases
Databases filled with eBooks.

Musical Ensembles and Performance Series

Because information on the web changes rapidly and can often be edited by anyone, the library recommends closely evaluating the information found on websites. Below find some general websites that cover the topic of Music as well as several resources to help evaluate information. If you have questions please reach out to the library.