Architectural History

Find information about a famous architect, or style of architecture using articles from library databases, and books (including ebooks as well as print or electronic encyclopedias), and credible websites. 

To find articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and academic (scholarly) journals) try the following Blinn Library databases: 

Use the search box on the library homepage to find books in the library.

The catalog provides citations, locations, and circulation information for all the print and audiovisual materials owned by the library. The library has a wide range of books on various architects, architectural styles and eras. Try searching for the name of your architect or for the specific work or era that you are researching.

 Use the "Call Number" to retrieve books from your home campus library shelves.

 Click on the "Request" button to have books from another campus delivered to your campus

 Click on the "Web Link" to access full-text electronic books in the library catalog or use the box to the right to access the electronic collections individually.

Books within the following number ranges in the library's reference section can include a wide variety of useful information, such as biographies, bibliographies, , and encyclopedias on specific artists, architects and eras.

• R 700

• R 720

The library has a collection of eBooks that can be accessed 24/7. Each of these websites has a selection of ebooks that you can read from anywhere you have an internet connection.

EBSCO eBooks *
Nearly 28,000 online electronic books available through the Ebsco web site, as well as the Blinn College Library Catalog. How to Download EBSCO eBooks

ebrary *
A searchable database of ebooks. Off campus users must first download the free ebrary reader in order to print pages. How to Download ebrary eBooks

Internet Archive: Texts
This collection is free and open for everyone to use.

Project Gutenberg
Access more than 13,000 electronic books from the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet.

Google Books
View the entirety of public domain books or, for books under copyright, just a few pages or in some cases, only the title’s bibliographic data and brief snippets.

Online encyclopedias contain full text articles from reference books that can be either viewed online, printed or emailed for later use. Some entries contain photographs, maps, etc.

CREDO Reference *
With this database, you have access to content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject. There are over 3 million entries, 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos), and over 100,000 audio pronunciation files and sound clips. The content is enriched by a network of cross-reference links that cut across topics and titles to give you accurate, contextual results.

Gale Virtual Reference Library *
Online access to many full text Gale reference books as well as works from other publishers.

* These are Blinn College Library subscription databases. You will need your Blinn College ID and password to access these databases from  off-campus. Links to these books are also found in the online catalog.

If you are having a difficult time finding the resources that you need, there is another option for you. As a student of Blinn College you are eligible for a TexShare card. A TexShare card will allow limited borrowing privileges at other participating Texas libraries, including Texas A&M University and the Bryan+College Station Public Library System. Blinn Library will issue TexShare cards to currently enrolled students. Bring your Blinn ID card to any Blinn Library service desk to apply for a TexShare card.

Texas A&M Libraries Catalog

Bryan+College Station Library System Catalog

Fall 2025 Library Chat Hours

Check the Library Hours & Calendar page for holidays and special hours.