LibGuides: Architectural History: ARCH 1301

ARCH 1301 Research Assignment

Find information about a local historic and architecturally significant site using articles from library databases, books in the library (including reference books), and websites.

Databases

Handbook of Texas
Description: The New Handbook of Texas is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative, and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.

Books in the Library

The catalog provides citations, locations, and circulation information for all the print and audiovisual materials owned by the library. The library has a wide range of books on Texas history and historical sties. Try searching for the name of the historic site you are researching. You may also use the following search terms to locate books on Texas Historical information:

Texas Historical	Texas Historic Buildings
Texas Historical Markers	Texas History
Texas Historic Sites	Texas Courthouses

Please note that many of our books on this topic are located in Brenham. Follow the instructions below to request to have them sent to the Bryan Campus. Once you have located books you would like to read:

Use the "Call Number" to retrieve books from your home campus library shelves.

Click on the "Request" button to have books from another campus delivered to your campus

Click on the "Web Link" to access full-text electronic books in the library catalog or use the box to the right to access the electronic collections individually.

Search Blinn Library Catalog
Use this link to search the Blinn Library Catalog

eBooks

The library has a collection of eBooks that can be accessed 24/7. Each of these websites has a selection of ebooks that you can read from anywhere you have an internet connection.

EBSCO eBooks *
Nearly 28,000 online electronic books available through the Ebsco web site, as well as the Blinn College Library Catalog. How to Download EBSCO eBooks

ebrary *
A searchable database of ebooks. Off campus users must first download the free ebrary reader in order to print pages. How to Download ebrary eBooks

Internet Archive: Texts
This collection is free and open for everyone to use.

Project Gutenberg
Access more than 13,000 electronic books from the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet.

Google Books
View the entirety of public domain books or, for books under copyright, just a few pages or in some cases, only the title’s bibliographic data and brief snippets.

Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a large collection of reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, almanacs, etc.) covering many different subjects. Also includes specialized sub-collections in the following subject areas: Drama, Education, History, Government & Law, Kinesiology & Health, Literature, Medicine, Novels, Poetry, Science, Short Stories, and Social Sciences.

Websites

Texas Historical Commission
The Texas Historical Commission an agency dedicated to historic preservation within the state of Texas. It administers the National Register of Historic Places for sites in Texas.
The commission also identifies Recorded Texas Historic Landmarks and recognizes them with Official Texas Historical Marker medallions and descriptive plaques. Finally, the commission identifies State Archeological Landmarks and Historic Texas Cemeteries. A bimonthly publication, The Medallion, is published by the agency as a state-wide preservation newsletter.
National Register of Historic Places Database Search
The official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.
Portal to Texas History (Univ. or North Texas)
The Portal is a gateway to Texas history materials. You may discover anything from an ancestor's picture to a rare historical map. From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. The Portal continues to grow as additional partners contribute digital versions of their collections.

TexShare

If you are having a difficult time finding the resources that you need, there is another option for you. As a student of Blinn College you are eligible for a TexShare card. A TexShare card will allow limited borrowing privileges at other participating Texas libraries, including Texas A&M University and the Bryan+College Station Public Library System. Blinn Library will issue TexShare cards to currently enrolled students. Bring your Blinn ID card to any Blinn Library service desk to apply for a TexShare card.

Texas A&M Libraries Catalog

Bryan+College Station Library System Catalog

Need Help?

Fall 2025 Library Chat Hours

SUNDAY	5:45 pm - 9:00 pm
MONDAY	8:00 am - 9:00 pm
TUESDAY	8:00 am - 9:00 pm
WEDNESDAY	8:00 am - 9:00 pm
THURSDAY	8:00 am - 9:00 pm
FRIDAY	8:00 am - 3:00 pm
SATURDAY	12:15 pm - 3:30 pm

Check the Library Hours & Calendar page for holidays and special hours.