This is the "Home" page of the "Nursing Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Blinn College Clock Tower Logo

Library Home | Search the Catalog | Articles & Databases | Library Services | Research Help | Useful Links | Contact Us

Live Chat

Nursing Research  

How to find reliable & evidence-based information on nursing in books, journals, magazines, and websites.
Last Updated: Apr 23, 2012 URL: http://libguides.blinn.edu/nursing Print Guide ShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resources to Use in Your Research

Reference -- medical atlases, encyclopedias, and dictionaries plus evidence-based medicine databases.

Books -- textbooks and medical books for broad coverage of a subject at a moderate to deep level.

Articles from periodicals (newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals). Focus on radiology journals to bring knowledge from books up to the present.

Websites -- lots of information, but it's easy for web authors to fake expertise. Evaluation is essential! Click on the Websites tab to search some recommended websites.

 

Blinn Allied Health Students & TAMU Medical Sciences Library

Students who are in Blinn College Allied Health Programs may also use the Texas A&M Medical Sciences Library (MSL). 


Blinn Allied Health Program student may:

Come to MSL to use the study space

Check out materials using a TexShare card,  or apply for a MSL community user card (normal fee will be waived) 

Get a temporary login for a day with a photo id  that will allow them:

  • Use the computers
  • Access the resources (databases, etc.) available to A&M students
  • Print for a fee

Bring your Blinn Allied Health program ID if you wish to use MSL resources!

Because of license agreements, Blinn students do not have off-campus access to TAMU electronic journals or databases.

Evidence-Based Medicine Databases

Databases created for medical staff who need to quickly determine current best practice based on the most recent, high-quality, research. 

  • PIER  
      
    Physician's Information and Education Resource, published by the American College of Physicians (ACP)
  • National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC™)  
      
    A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
  • Natural and Alternative Treatments  
      
    This consumer-oriented database contains almost two hundred articles on medical conditions, presenting in an evidence-based manner the alternative medicine therapies proposed for use in their treatment.
 

Search Subject Encyclopedia Databases

These sources can be a starting point to learn about your topic. Subject encyclopedias are very helpful to narrow down your topics and to find keywords to make your searches more productive.



 


Librarian
Bryan Campus

 

Chat with Librarian

 

We Want Your Input!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip