This is the "Home" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Blinn College Clock Tower Logo

Library Home | Search the Catalog | Articles & Databases | Library Services | Research Help | Useful Links | Contact Us

Live Chat

Psychology  

This guide will help you find that info, which might be useful if you are looking for books and articles for class.
Last Updated: Mar 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.blinn.edu/psychology Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Books

Online Resources

These sources can be a starting point to learn about your topic. Subject encyclopedias are very helpful to narrow down your topics and to find keywords to make your searches more productive.


Search Psychology

DSM-IV-TR - Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders

Psycholgists and Their Theories for Students - two volume set with information on major psychologists and their theories

 


Print Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology

Encyclopedia of Psychology

Dictionaries Online

Use online dictionaries to supplement your textbook and to find keywords.

 

Chat

 

Psychology

Looking for information about Psychology? This guide will help you find that info, which might be useful if you are looking for books and articles for class. 

Using this guide, you can search the catalog for books or psychology databases for scholarly research articles on all aspects of psychology. It will be helpful to know some good search terms so you might want to go to the Reference tab or Website tab to find keywords. Also, use terms that you have studied in class. Psychology terms are more professional than slang words we use in everyday speech. Example: teens/adolescents.

Abnormal psychology deals with the different aspects of abnormal behavior, both causes and treatments.

Educational psychology focuses on how people learn and develop. This also includes groups such as gifted students or those with learning disabilities.

Health psychology is a branch of human behavior that is concerned with the psychological implications of physical actions on health. For instance, smoking, weight gain, stress management, and fitness can affect our mental health.

Developmental psychology focuses on human development. This type of psychology describes, measures, and explains behavioral changes throughout the lifespan.

Social psychology explores how we live and interact in the world. Pop culture, group behavior, the media, and our attitudes and opinions are all part of social psychology. 

Encyclopedias Online

You can search these refence books individually or use the GVRL search box (left) to search all of them at one time.  These are Blinn subscription based encyclopedias.

 

We Want Your Input!

Please give us input on the entire guide, not just this first page.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Librarian
Brenham Campus

Profile Image
Jayne Kitterman
Logo - AIMLogo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Blinn Library-Brenham campus
979-830-4035 or 979-830-4451
Send Email

Librarian Bryan Campus

Profile Image
Jessica Storlien
Contact Info
Bryan Campus Library
979-209-7548
Send Email
 

Faculty Links

Larry Thomas: Blinn College Psychology Instructor, Brenham Campus

McNamara Report

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip