Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 Blinn College Library

Admin Sign In 

Emergency Medical Services 

Resources for Emergency Medical Services
Last update: Aug 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.blinn.edu/content.php?pid=53027  Print Guide

Overview and Websites             Print Page
  

Librarian
Bryan Campus

Brian Carpenter
Contact Info:
Send Email

 

Emergency Medical Technician Courses and Materials

Access to the Emergency Medical Service online classes and course material is available through eCampus.

eCampus is a Web-based course management and collaboration portal that enables educators to manage course materials and to communicate with students. With eCampus, you can take surveys, quizzes, and tests; send and receive course mail; post messages to threaded discussions and chat rooms; upload assignments using online drop boxes; and more.

You can check your progress and grades at any time during a course. You can also create groups and teams for project or committee work.

To access your class materials and courses, you will need your username and password.

Your Username is your 6-digit Blinn College identification number.
Your Password is your Birthdate yyyymmdd.

If you need help with eCampus, you can use the Student Essentials Guide or the Distance Ed Support guide, or you may contact Distance Education Support.

 

We Want Your Input!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 

Emergency Medical Service Sites

  • Federal Emergency Management Agency - National Incident Management System Integration Center  
    Developed by the Department of Homeland Security in conjunction with FEMA, so first responders from various jurisdictions and services can work together better to respond to natural disasters and emergencies, including acts of terrorism. Includes a list of frequently asked questions, smart practices & lessons learned, and tools and templates for how to respond to a major emergency.
  • Interpol: Disaster Victim Identification Guide  
    Created by the world's largest international police organization, Interpol. This resource is one of several guides developed on various crime and disaster related topics to help law enforcement agencies and first responders. It is divided into the six chapters, including disaster handling procedures, victim indentification, and international regulations concerning law enforcement cooperation in times of disaster. The guide is also available as PDF document from the website.
  • National Highway Transportation Safety Administration, Office of Emergency Medical Services  
    Developed by the U.S. Department of Transportation's NHTSA, this website supplies national standard curricula, core content and scope of practice models for EMS professionals. The site also provides links to national research agenda, a newsletter, and downloadable.
  • National Library of Medicine Databases and Electronic Resources  
    Includes links to websites with authoritative health info, including dictionaries, directories, organizations, news sources, and 650 health topics. Also links to pre-formulated searches of the MEDLINE and PubMed databases.
  • Pill Identifier  
    From Drugs.com. This site allows a person to identify by size, shape, color, code, and etc. You must agree to the terms [standard formality] of Pill Wizard before access is alllowed.
  • Texas Administrative Code - Emergency Medical Services  
    Presents the provisions of the TAC that specifically relate to Emergency Medical Services and licensing of EMS professionals in full text format. Chapter 157 subchapters include: Emergency Medical Services - Part A, Emergency Medical Services Provider Licenses, Emergency Medical ServicesTraining and Course Approval, Emergency Medical Services Personnel Certification, and Emergency Medical ServicesTrauma Systems.
  • Texas Department of Health Services, EMS Trauma Systems  
    Produced by the Department of State Health Services, this website provides information on certification, continuing education, examinations, forms, funding sources, rules & policies, and statutes & laws.
 

Emergency Medical Service Organizations

  • Committee on Accreditation of Educational Programs for EMS Professions  
    CoAEMSP, under the auspices of the Commission on the Accreditation of Allied Health Programs (CAAHEP), is to continuously improve the quality of EMS education through accreditation and recognition services for the full range of EMS professions.
  • EMSAT  
    Emergency Medical Service Assocation of Texas offers EMS professionals a broad spectrum of resources to help them educate political leaders and legislators. Contents include postion statements on various issues, a code of ethics, legislative news and a newsletter.
  • National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians  
    Actively encouraging professionalism in Emergency Medical Services, this national level organization provides awards & scholarships, edcuational programs, publications, and other useful resources for promotion and study of the discipline.
  • National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians  
    America's national EMT certifying agency, was created in the 1970s to provide certification for those who provide emergency medical services. The website which has a login section for members and actively encourages professionalism in Emergency Medical Services. It also has links to certification tests and related examinations, annual reports, policies, information on education programs and links to other useful resources websites for promotion and study of the discipline.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait