What is MLA Style?
MLA style is the citation format of the Modern Language Association. It is used when writing papers in literature, arts, and humanities. Most English classes at Blinn College require you to use MLA style.
Books in the Library
In 2009, MLA released the seventh edition of the MLA Handbook. Some of the most notable changes are italicizing titles instead of underlining them and not including URLs for website entries.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th Edition
Call Number:
808.027 M699h 2009
ISBN/ISSN: 1603290249
The definitive undergraduate resource for information on MLA citation style
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd Edition
Call Number:
808.027 M720m 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 0873522974
For researchers contemplating serious publication in the field of literature and language
Online Examples and Info
- MLA Formatting and Style GuideExamples citations for books, scholarly journals, online periodicals, and more.
[From the OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue University] - MLA Citation Style ExamplesExamples of citations for various databases (under “Citing Full Text Sources”), as well as books, interviews, pamphlets, and more.
[From the B.D. Owens Library at Northwest Missouri State University] - Writing Center: Handouts & WorksheetsThe links under “Research Documentation” lead to documents with useful MLA examples.
NOTE: Links titled “1302 Works Cited Help” have examples useful for more than just ENGL 1302.
[From the Blinn College Writing Center] - MLA: FAQ about the MLA HandbookFrequently asked questioned about the MLA Handbook, brought to you by MLA.
[From the Modern Language Association] - MLA Style Aid/Cooperative Library Instruction ProjectThis aid includes examples of in text citations, reference page citations and paper formatting in MLA style.
[The aid is based off of the 7th ed. of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers published in 2009.]
MLA Citation Generators
Free tools designed to assist in generating citations for crediting information from other people.
NOTE: Some citation generators do not reflect recent MLA Handbook, 7th edition changes. Use such resources with caution.
- Son of Citation Machine: MLAClick on MLA (on the left). Select source type. Click on “More” if you don't see source you're using. Enter required info and click “Submit”.
[Originally created by David Warlick of The Landmark Project] - EasyBibClick on source type, then click on Enter required information, and click on “Create citation”.
[A service of ImagineEasy Solutions] - Bedford BibliographerCreate free account or login.
Click on “New Project” (upper left), type name, select MLA. Choose Source Type (upper right), click “New Source”, answer questions, fill in required info.
[From Bedford’s/St.Martins] - KnightCiteNOTE: Not updated to 7th edition
Select source type from list on left, enter required data, click submit. Users can create a free account to save citations and bibliographies.
[Provided by Hekman Library, Calvin College] - NoodleBib ExpressNOTE: Not updated to 7th edition
Click on "NoodleBib Express" (middle). Click MLA, select citation type, click "Create Citation", and answer required info. Limited number of citations provided.
[From NoodleTools]
Description
Loading content... please wait


