This is the "Home" page of the "Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Blinn College Clock Tower Logo

Library Home | Search the Catalog | Articles & Databases | Library Services | Research Help | Useful Links | Contact Us

Live Chat

Biology  

How to find reliable information on biology topics in books, journals, magazines, and websites.
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2013 URL: http://libguides.blinn.edu/biology Print Guide ShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Table of Contents

Home

Reference books and databases; Contact information for individual help

Find Books

Library Catalog, ebook sources; TexShare Cards (for using other libraries)

Find Articles 

Recommended databases; journals available online/in the library; what is a scholarly journal.

Websites 

Recommended websites

Citation

Help with citing your sources correctly.

Assignments Help

Survey

Did you participate in a research class taught by a Blinn librarian?Take this short survey to let us know how we did.

 

Reference Databases

AccessScience

Includes these major reference resources:

  • McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
  • McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology
  • McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
  • Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography®
  • Science News® and ScienCentral® videos


In addition, the database is continuously updated, fully-searchable, with media-rich content, such as videos, illustrations, animations, and image galleries.


Science Online

This database includes news articles, definitions, biographies, essays, videos & animations,

 


Gale Virtual Reference Library is a large collection of online scholarly encyclopedias. Use the widget below to search only in the science encyclopedias.


Credo Reference is a large collection of online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and books. Use the widget below to search in their science resources.

 

 

 

eReference Books

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Publication Date: 2007
via AccessScience

Cover Art
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
ISBN: 9781414486703
Publication Date: 2011
Includes the following encycopedias in one search interface:
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia 2011
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (2003)
Grzimek's Student Animal Life
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia 2011: Evolution

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of BioScience
ISBN: 9780071417969
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
The Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Biology
ISBN: 1859862241
Publication Date: 2004

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Plant Sciences - Michael Allaby
ISBN: 0585110379
Publication Date: 1998

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Zoology - Michael Allaby
ISBN: 9780585159973
Publication Date: 1999

 

Reference books in the Library



Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Rainforests
Call Number:
R 578.73403 J939e

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Human Biology
Call Number:
R 612.003 En19o 1997

Cover Art
Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Mammals
Call Number:
R 599 G929e 1990

Cover Art
Plant Sciences for Students
Call Number:
R 580 P694s

Cover Art
UXL Encyclopedia of Biomes
Call Number:
R 577.82 Ux6L

Librarian
Bryan Campus

Profile Image
Paula Verdegaal

Librarian
Brenham Campus

Profile Image
Jason Bontrager
Live Chat
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Phone: 979-830-4254
Send Email
 

We Want Your Input!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip