This is the "Home" page of the "Geology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Blinn College Clock Tower Logo

Library Home | Search the Catalog | Articles & Databases | Library Services | Research Help | Useful Links | Contact Us

Live Chat

Geology  

The resources in this LibGuide will help you find books, articles, and web sites that cover many aspects of the Earth Sciences.
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.blinn.edu/Geology Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Dictionaries in the Library

A Dictionary of Earth Sciences
Call Number: R 550.3 D561o 2008

Dictionary of Geology & Mineralogy
Call Number: R 550.3 M178h 2003

A Dictionary of Physical Sciences
Call Number: R 500.203 D145d 1977

 

Encyclopedias in the Library


Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather
Call Number: R 551.503 En19o

Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs
Call Number: R 567.903 En19o

Encyclopedia of Earth Science
Call Number: R 550.3 K968e

Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes
Call Number: R 551.203 En19o 2001

Encyclopedia of Geomorphology
Call Number: R 551.4103 En19o

Encyclopedia of Minerals
Call Number: R 549.03 R544e



Encyclopedia of the Sea
Call Number: R 551.46003 EL59e

Encyclopedia of Volcanoes
Call Number: R 551.2103 En19o

Encyclopedia of Water
Call Number: R 553.703 N482e

Geology
Call Number: R 550.3 G292e

The Atlas of Global Change
Call Number: R 550 G510a 1998

Innovations in Earth Sciences
Call Number: 550 In6i

Oxford Companion to the Earth
Call Number: R 550.3 Ox2c

Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Call Number: R 503 M178e 2007

Rivers of North America
Call Number: R 551.483 R524o

Smithsonian Earth
Call Number: 550 Ea76r 2003


 

Geology


Here are some of the areas that students research in geology

  • Stratigraphy
  • Plate tectonics
  • Hydrology
  • Paleontology
  • Mineralogy

Types of Resources to Use in Your Research

  • Reference books -- mainly scholarly encyclopedias and subject-specific dictionaries. It helps to start with a good general background knowledge of your topic.
  • Books -- for broad coverage of a subject at a moderate to deep level.
  • Articles from periodicals (newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals) -- to hone in on the specifics, or bring knowledge from books up to date.
  • Websites -- lots of information, but it's easy for web authors to fake expertise. Evaluation is essential! Click on the Websites tab to search some recommended websites.

Encyclopedias/Dictionaries Online

Librarian
Brenham Campus

Profile Image
Jason Bontrager
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Phone: 979-830-4254
Send Email
 

We Want Your Input!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip